2018–2019 Walden University Student Handbook (September 2018) 
    Apr 03, 2020  
2018–2019 Walden University Student Handbook (September 2018) [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Walden Awards

Return to: Walden Awards and Honoraria  

More detailed information about these awards is provided on the Walden Awards page. For more information, please send an e-mail to awards@waldenu.edu.

Bernard L. Turner Award

The Bernard L. Turner Award was created to honor the unique contributions to American higher education of Bernard L. Turner, chairman of the board (emeritus) and founding president of Walden University. Turner was an innovator in distance graduate-level distance education for professionals, and his lifelong concerns for critical thinking and social change left an indelible mark on the Walden curriculum. A passionate advocate for equal educational opportunity and social justice, he made the Walden dream a reality with persistence and dedication. This award is presented to the research committee (the dissertation committee) of the Harold L. Hodgkinson Award recipient.

Faculty Excellence Award

The Faculty Excellence Award recognizes one outstanding Walden faculty member from each college. The recipients exemplify the university’s core values of quality, integrity, and student-centeredness. These faculty members demonstrate a strong commitment and dedication to serving the university, their communities, and their professions. Faculty members may be nominated by current students, other faculty members, or alumni and must have been with Walden University for at least 2 years at the time of receiving the award.

Frank Dilley Award

The Frank Dilley Award for Outstanding Doctoral Study is bestowed upon a Walden graduate whose doctoral study is judged as meeting the highest standards of academic excellence. This award was created to honor Dr. Dilley’s academic contributions to North American higher education as well as his dedication to Walden University’s academic programs.

Harold L. Hodgkinson Award

The Harold L. Hodgkinson Award is bestowed upon a Walden University graduate whose dissertation is judged as meeting the highest university standards of academic excellence. This award was created to honor the dedicated life and distinguished career of one of the nation’s foremost experts in demography, Dr. Harold L. Hodgkinson, and to recognize his instrumental role in the establishment and academic development of Walden University.

Outstanding Alumni Award

The Outstanding Alumni Award annually recognizes a Walden graduate who is an exemplar of the Walden scholar-practitioner and who has made exceptional contributions to her or his profession, discipline, or community since graduation. The individual’s contributions typify and personify the mission of Walden University. Third-party references and/or empirical evidence attest to the results of the individual’s contributions, which have positively affected or enhanced her or his profession or discipline. Current students, alumni, and faculty members make the nominations.

Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence

The Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence is selected by the university president from the elite pool of Faculty Excellence Award honorees. This faculty member demonstrates unmatched dedication to the university, its mission, and its vision and exemplifies the Walden educator’s role in empowering students to advance positive social change in their communities.

Rita Turner Award

One of two awards honoring the founders of Walden University, the Rita Turner Award is bestowed annually upon the faculty chair of the doctoral study committee of the recipient of the Frank Dilley Award for Outstanding Doctoral Study. This award honors the total commitment to the founding and sustaining of Walden by Rita Turner, co-founder of the university. Mrs. Turner’s shared vision of the university, careful attention to major organizational issues, supervision of complex operational details, and concern for fiscal accountability made it possible not only for the university to flourish during its first two decades, but for it to also grow into the unique global institution it is today.