2015-2016 Walden University Student Handbook (March 2016) 
    Feb 05, 2023  
2015-2016 Walden University Student Handbook (March 2016) [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Transition Points

Return to: Learning and Research Resources  

Some programs within Walden University’s Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership incorporate a series of academic requirements, referred to as transition points or milestones, designed to ensure that candidates have acquired the necessary competencies and expertise to be a more effective educator. At each transition point, progress within the program will be evaluated using assessments that align with national professional standards. Walden’s faculty members will help students master core concepts and principles, while student support services can provide additional academic, advising, and technical assistance. Successful advancement beyond each transition point certifies that students have the knowledge, skills, and professional dispositions to make a positive impact in their classroom, school, and community.

Students are encouraged to review their program specific handbook or guidebook accessible from their MyWalden page for additional information on their program’s transition points. 

Transition points can be found in the Minimum Academic Progress Benchmarks and GPA Requirements  chart.

Transition points are included in the following programs:

Teacher Preparation Program

  • Teacher Preparation Program with a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
    • Special Education (K–Age 21)

Endorsement Programs

  • Reading Endorsement

Education Specialist (EdS) Programs

  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Administrator Leadership for Teaching and Learning
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Curriculum, Instruction, and Professional Development 
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Educational Leadership and Administration (Principal Preparation) Program
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Educational Technology
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Reading and Literary Leadership
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Special Education
  • Education Specialist (EdS) in Teacher Leadership

Doctoral Programs

  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Administrator Leadership for Teaching and Learning
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Reading and Literary Leadership
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Special Education
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Teacher Leadership 

Master’s Degree Programs

  • MS in Education